Customer Reviews for Carmen

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at La-Z-Boy.

Carmen

Sleek and modern, the Carmen reclining sofa appeals with comfortable and contemporary leather styling. The sharp styling of Carmen stands out from the rest with large-gauge skip-stitch detailing. Carmen shows off the heavy stitch detail with box borders on the arms, seats and wings. This detail proves comfort can be sleek as well as fashionable.
Average Customer Rating:
3.579 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
12 of 19(63%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Carmen
Review 1 for Carmen
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stubby
Location:Dallas, Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:Female

awesome reclining couch

Date:November 12, 2013
"We bought this reclining couch for our study. We are very please with it. Very comfortable and because it reclines "downward" you don't have to place it too far from the wall. The leather is very high quality too. We love it!"
Review 2 for Carmen
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
baskets
Location:Fort Branch IN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female

spacious

Date:August 3, 2011
"The sofa is so spacious and comfortable, very easy to take my naps in. The recliner is good for reading a book to the children."
Review 3 for Carmen
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wmthom
Location:Waldorf, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:Male

Sit Back and Relax

Date:February 10, 2011
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"My wife and I bought two of the Carmen Sofas for our family and we are totally pleased with them. 1) Everyone in the house can put their feet up. During the holidays we have about 15 people staying over. We laughed because there is not one person who did not fall prey to it's incredible comfort and fall asleep! You have a win in this one La z Boy!"
Review 4 for Carmen
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sabretooth
Location:kingston on
Age:45-54
Gender:Male

Visitors never fail to ask where we got it

Date:April 9, 2010
"We love this sofa...so much room and a great design with beautiful colour. Visitors never fail to ask where we got it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carmen
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BigD
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:Male

Comfortable upgrade

Date:June 15, 2009
"Recently married and needing to renew and upgrade our furniture. Looking for high quality and value for our money and found it in our local LaZboy store. It looks wonderful and is so practical in our not so big living room. It's easy to operate and very comfortable. Serving as a sofa and a dual recliner, it covers all our furniture needs for now, and the future. We will be back for more items when we move to a new home."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carmen
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HUGOFUS71
Location:OCEAN GATE NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Male

VERY HAPPY WITH PURCHASE

Date:May 16, 2009
"WIFE AND I WENT LOOKING FOR NEW FURNITRUE WENT TO LA Z BOY FRIST WALKED IN SAW THE CARMEN SOFA AND CHAIR AND A HALF WOW WHAT A SET HAD WHAT WE BOTH WANTED LOOKS AND COMFORT.WENT TOO NO LESS THEN 9 OTHER TOP NAME BRAND STORES IN OUR AREA NOTHING CAME CLOSE SURE WE FOUND CHEEPER BUT WE WHERE NOT INTRESTED IN CHEEPER SURE WE LOVE TO SAVE MONEY BUT COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING EVEN CLOSE TOO THE CARMEN SET BIG COMFORTABLE AND GOOD LOOKING SO WE WE ORDER THE SET AND THE SKYLER GLIDER SWIVEL RECLINER TOLD US 6 TO 10 WEEKS WELL 5 1/2 WEEKS SET COMES IN EVERYTHING WENT SO GOOD WIFE AND I VERY HAPPY"
Review 7 for Carmen
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purplegirl
Location:Deale, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:Female

Its awesome!

Date:May 13, 2009
"I bought the sofa and I love it. The only drawback is that for a short person to be able to sit back, they end up with feet that don't touch the floor. I didn't notice until I had guests. But, for me, its great, looks good and is very comfortable."
Review 8 for Carmen
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WAMOM
Location:Washington State
Age:35-44
Gender:Female

Love La Z Boy quality

Date:April 6, 2009
"It took months to find a style of sofa that appealed to both my husband and I . We started looking at regular sofas because they were less expensive. We quickly realized that it needed to be a La Z Boy recliner style because of the extra sturdiness- we didn't want "sinking" cushions after a year. I was concerned that the stitching on the Carmen would easily snag or come unraveled. That never happened. It's still in perfect shape and we've owned it for about 2 yrs. now. It's firm yet very comfortable. I highly recommend this product. Now we're shopping for reclining chairs to go with it."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carmen
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marie1
Location:Highland, IN
Age:24-34
Gender:Female

So Comfortable and Looks Good Too

Date:March 20, 2009
"My husband and I were having a hard time finding furniture we could both appreciate. I wanted something unique that looked good in our family room and he wanted someplace comfortable to recline. With the Carmen, we found the perfect solution to both our needs. The stiching and overall design are stylish and different from anything else we've seen. And I have to admit I really enjoy being able to recline. Thanks La-Z-Boy!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carmen
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Aldo
Location:Calgary
Age:24-34
Gender:Female

Comfortable

Date:April 15, 2012
"My husband was skeptical until he discovered how nice it is to recline after a difficult work out or day at work. He's so happy I bought the sofa I did! It cleans up well when the dogs get their muddy paws on it. This couch makes any living room look great!"
Review 11 for Carmen
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ladybug16
Location:Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:Female

Comfy couch

Date:April 10, 2010
"This couch has been great. It is comfy and the reclining features are great. If you have animals they may scratch the leather with their nails.I had to have service out twice, the springs were not on properly. They fixed it finally after 3 visits and everything as been great since."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carmen
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Susanna
Location:Central Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female

Average

Date:May 12, 2010
"We purchased 2 Carmen sofas and one oversized chair in January of 2010. Though we love the style, color, and overall look of the furniture, my husband and I agree that they offer very poor lumbar support.
Though I am of average height and weight, I must always place a small pillow behind my back for adequate support and increased comfort.
While visually appealing, this collection fails to provide the support and comfort I expected from Laz-z-boy.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carmen
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tony
Location:Temecula, Ca
Age:35-44
Gender:Male

Date:August 13, 2009
"Love this sofa along with chairs. We got one recliner chair and one without reclining. We have only had about two months and the chair recliner and one sofa recliner both have defective reclining mechanisms. The real bummer is that it takes over 4 weeks to get the parts in such a bummer when you are buying such quality furniture. Love the sofa and just believe we got unfortunate. Everyone loves the comfort and looks of this set."
Review 14 for Carmen
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
twar
Location:Chattanooga, TN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female

Disappointed

Date:December 28, 2013
"Purchased sofa and chair and a half in 2009. Chose because of La Z Boy Brand, style suited our needs and assumed quality. After approximately 2 years of regular (most days) use we noticed the leather appeared scratched and the leather on one seat cushion on sofa bunches up and needs to be smoothed. Then about a year ago we noticed the leather where we place our heads had turned an "orange" color. We have maintained with cleaner and conditioner. Very disappointed with the overall look and quality of leather. Have had problem twice with recliner part not working but the service has been prompt, efficient and the staff at the store and the service person have been awesome! Would recommend this store but will check product reviews next time. I am just very disappointed with the quality of the leather and the wear on this particular product."
Review 15 for Carmen
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Randy
Location:Milwaukee
Age:45-54
Gender:Male

Disappointed in Sofa

Date:April 29, 2012
"I bought this sofa with the idea of one side for my girlfriend and I. This part of it is nice, But the reclining part is not very easy to use. It is very hard to get sofa to recline and then when you do it is hard to get back down. Also I have found out not very comforable in the recline postion, or just the upright position. I am 5'10" and still to short for this recliner. I am hoping that it brakes in a little so the recline feature works better. Overall not very happy with it . My older recling chair is much nicer and easier to use. Stay away unless you are at least 6'1" tall."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carmen
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
disgruntled

Too large for average woman

Date:May 23, 2010
"We got this sofa for a wedding gift from my mother-in-law so I have been reluctant to sell it, but I'm ready! The sofa is such a large scale that my feet don't touch the floor and I have to use a cushion behind my back., I'm 5'4", he's 6'4" and it fits him only. My husband wanted a recliner, but it puts the coffee table in the middle of the room. The side he sits on is very visibly worn and sagging. The stiching makes this very noticable.
If both people in the house are tall, this sofa may work- but for me, at average height, it's just too large.
"
Review 17 for Carmen
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RHTH
Location:London Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:Female

So disappointed

Date:December 5, 2010
"This is the first time I've ever written a review on a website but I thought this one was important. When I saw this couch and chair it was love at first site! AND it was soooo comfortable too! There is only my husband and I in the house and yet BOTH the chair and the couch have saggy leather at the ends (where we sit the most). Also on BOTH the chair and the couch the foot rests don't go in or come out without proper placement due to the structure being of poor quality. I have had leather furniture in our basement and upstairs livingroom since we've been married (this is our 4th set over 22 years) and this is the only set that has ever caused us any problems.......sad to say I would never recommend this furniture - maybe it was just bad luck - not sure!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carmen
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Canada411

Comfy but poor quality

Date:December 2, 2010
""We purchased the full carmen set reclining couch, reclining chair, stationary chair and ottoman loved the furniture at first, but then started to notice the top layer of the leather flake off now its almost all gone on the seat. I will admit it is still very comfortable but is very embarassing having a brand new home with beautiful very expensive furniture! that looks terrible. I always thought of Lazy boy as the best but were not very impressed with the product nor them standing behind their product.""
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carmen
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
susie1

Disappointed

Date:June 11, 2009
"I know everyone else loved this set but, I have been disaappointed in the quality. My cushions have sagged and there is so much leather bunched up on the seat cushion I can fold it over. I was told that this kind of leather does that. SO beware - before you spend this large amount of money make sure they will fix any sagging cushions, backs, or arm rest. Because they did not fix mine and I only had it for three weeks before the problems started. The problem was not due to kids because I do not have any nor do I have any pets in the house."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.